Where is interest tracked for debt / credit card accounts?

Hi! Newbie here completely confused about the difference between Accounts, Credit Cards and Debts as they relate to tracking interest expense.

It seems logical to me that there should be a way to see the total interest we’re paying but we experimented with setting up credit card and debt accounts and recording payments — we can’t even figure out where, if anywhere - the interest is being tracked and there doesn’t seem to be any way to build a report on it or export it.

So it seems like the only way to do that is to set up a debt / credit card as an account (with a negative balance) then create an envelope for Interest Paid to serve as a home for the finance charges?

Any advantage in using Credit Cards vs. Accounts for this? And how are the Debts intended to be used?

There are two ways to set up a credit card; first, as a “pay off every month” account (thus no interest accrues) or as a “working to pay off” account. If you choose the latter, you’ll have the opportunity to enter interest with each payment, and the account screen will show you how much you’ve paid since you started tracking. Adding charges to those accounts AND using budget envelopes can be sticky, so it’s best to simply work to pay them off vs. trying to use them and pay them at the same time. (It can be done, but it takes some fancy footwork and a couple of workarounds to get there)

This is a zero-interest loan we’re paying off:

And here’s a credit card we paid off (also with no interest, so that’s not a glitch):

If you were to set up your debt/credit card as a regular account with a negative balance, then your Unallocated money and monthly totals would be off because it would assume that’s part of your working budget and that you’re hopelessly overdrawn. Debts aren’t calculated that way, so it’s better to set them up as debts/credit cards in order to make your budgeting meaningful.
Does that help?