That little line on the progress bar

Hello, I’m new to Goodbudget. I used to have a Simple banking account and used all the budgeting features they had, I paid off over $60,000 by sticking to my budget on Simple. So I understand how easy-to-use budgets can be and how absolutely necessary they are to everyday life.

After trying Everydollar, YNAB, and Tiller, I found Goodbudget to be the easiest one to use. But one thing I don’t understand is why the “fill envelopes” don’t work correctly and by correctly I mean when I choose the amount that the envelops suggests I add to it, the amount does not reach that little line on the progress bar (which i found out in the help section is supposed to be how much is needed to be on-track to reach the targeted fund date). Some of my envelopes get left over with odd amounts, and on Simple it would automatically recalculate exactly how much I needed to set aside each pay period to reach my targeted fund date on all my different envelopes (they called them expenses in Simple though), I could even change my targeted fund date and Simple would recalculate how much I needed to set aside. On Goodbudget I have to do all the calculations myself. Which isn’t a huge problem, but it would sure make the app easier to use if it would automatically recalculate by itself.

I guess my question is, is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

I also noticed this last time i filled envelopes, that the little line on the progress bar don’t seem to be correct all the time, is that normal?

I get paid weekly and I set my budget up to be weekly, in case that makes a difference. I know from trying all those other budgeting apps that doing a weekly budget is not considered normal.

Thanks

Hi Matthew1201,

Welcome to Goodbudget, and sorry for the confusion getting started! I’ll try to answer your questions as best I can.