Paycheck same every two weeks?

I am new to Goodbudget. I have all my envelopes created.

I get paid the same amount every two weeks. I need to make two budgets. One that takes everything coming out of the first paycheck. The second, the second paycheck.

It there a way to make 2 different budgets. Money is tight, and if I don’t time things correctly, we overdraw our account.

What I have tried so far, Good budget keeps combining the two paycheck amounts into one lump sum. I tried setting it up as 2 different bank accounts, to take the money from different places, but when I try to fill the envelopes, it is combining the total amount?

Thanks for any help. I’m sure this is me, and my user error. Thanks again! Matt

Hi Matt – I’m not entirely sure what you mean by “Goodbudget keeps combining the two paycheck amounts into one lump sum”. Are you talking about in your Account? in Unallocated? in the actual Income transaction?

Although it’s not possible to have multiple distinct budgets in a single Goodbudget household, one thing you can do in this situation is to set up two Envelope Groups, one for each 2-week budget segment. That way the Envelopes themselves are separated a little.

Next, you’ll create two separate scheduled Income transactions, each recurring every 4 weeks, and each filling a different set of your Envelopes. That’ll allow you to have two “separate” budgets (they’ll still be connected) and view and interact with them separately.

1 Like

Thank You! That sounds like a way to do it. I’m not sure what I am doing, so I’m sure it is me, and my lack of knowledge of the system. I have been using it for one day. Thanks again! I’ll let ya know if I get it done.