How to categorize credit card payments

I am new to using GB to track my credit card expenses - I have only used it for our checking account previously.
When I import my list of credit card transactions, I assign them to the correct account and envelope. I pay my card off every month, so I understand that when I make the payment I just transfer the amount from my checking account to my credit card amount. But I’m not sure what to do about the payments when they appear in the list as I import transactions. How would I assign them without it seeming like a credit that I don’t actually have?
Hopefully this makes sense!

Personally I’d just ignore them in the Credit Card Account (i.e. not import them). If you already have them in Goodbudget as Account Transfers, then putting in another transaction would just count it double and make things confusing.

Alternatively, if you haven’t put in the Account Transfers yet, you can add the payments as Credits to your Credit Card Account and then use them as reminders to create Transfers, and delete the Credits once you’ve done that.

1 Like

I cannot figure out how to make payments to credit cards and it’s frustrating I’ll get a refund and go back to a manual budget. I allocate expenses when using credit cards, but how do I transfer from my Checking account to a credit card in your system? It doesn’t give me the option of Checking in my drop-down even though there is a checking account. Do I just use unallocated (seems not)?

It sounds like you may be struggling with the difference between accounts and envelopes. The credit card and checking should be two separate accounts, so a payment simply represents a transfer from checking to the CC. Depending on whether you pay the card off every month or carry a balance (a debt account), the transaction may have some additional data but the general principle is the same.