GB account total not matching bank account total

Hi,

I am new to GB and am struggling with my account total on GB getting out of sync with my actual bank account total.

When I started I added everything in that I could and made sure the totals matched. Over time the accounts didnt match anymore. Yesterday I did a dummy transaction to make them match again and today, they dont match again.

I am worried the envelopes budget isn’t reliable as it doesn’t reflect my real world bank account balance, even though all of the transactions match for the last two months (I printed my bank account transactions and marked them all off in the app transactions).

What is going on here?

Thanks!

Hi and welcome!
Are you entering transactions manually or having them import automatically? The process is a bit different in each circumstance. It’s hard to imagine exactly what you’re seeing, but some things I would consider first:
The Accounts and Envelopes show the same money from two different perspectives. Accounts should show real-life balances day-to-day. As such, you’ll only really be in the Accounts tab during envelope Fills and account reconciliations.
The Envelopes show all that same money and its assignments, with any over- or under budget money in the Available pile.
If you started Goodbudget with the balance in an account as of that day, the only transactions you would add are any that weren’t already reflected at the bank plus any new spending. Is it possible that some previously “pending” or outstanding transactions have cleared? Setting things up between statements in the first month can be a little tricky as a result, but then it’s typically smooth sailing.