Importing Transactions Fails To Match

I’ve been using Goodbudget for nine months now. However, it fails to learn or be helpful. When I import this month’s QFX file for my credit card, I get zero exact or good matches. I eat at the same places, and those charges always have to be manually matched, even though Goodbudget now has 40+ examples of where it will go. I see no way to manually setup assignment rules, and the software clearly isn’t learning that all charges starting with “Restaurant name” will go in the “Restaurant” envelope, so I have to spend time manually matching a bunch of envelopes that a computer can do in milliseconds. What am I missing here?

Thanks!

Personally, I haven’t found this to be the case—almost 100% of my imports are associated with my daily transactions. Have you possibly tried importing in another format like .csv to see if that creates a better match? Maybe your bank has added/hidden fields that are interfering with the Goodbudget matching algorithm. It’s just a guess but might be worth a try, unless the Admins have a different suggestion.
I wonder whether I’m understanding your issue though; are you expecting the import to bring in new transactions and match them to envelopes? Because an import simply matches bank transactions to items you’ve input into Goodbudget already; if you’re not entering expenses in real time there’s nothing to which it CAN match your imports. Since it’s an envelope-budgeting-style program, the expectation is that money is removed from envelopes in real time, as it’s spent. Is that what you’re doing?

Thanks for your reply. I am not manually entering transactions. I am importing transactions in a batch, once a month using QFX.